Yahoo!Pipes: a different storytelling

02/05/2010 § Leave a comment

It has been a long time, yes! I was finishing my term papers for the University and preparing my next steps (I’ll tell you about them soon). Now I’m back and  I’d like to share with you part of what I learned during the preparation of my term papers and projects.

First of all I’d like to introduce you Ecolatitude. It’s a blog about environmental news coming from different sources such as BBC, Reuters, Yahoo! and Google News.

What I most liked about this project was my Yahoo!Pipe Map. Have you heart about “Pipes“? It is a very interesting tool created by Yahoo! that allows you to create maps of information, managing topics, filters, RSS… everything! The only problem is that Yahoo! Pipes is still a new technology and sometimes it collapses or works slowly… Moreover you can feel that you don’t understand how this “spaguetti” works but keep trying. The results can be amazing.

But, how does it work? To explain, I’ll show you my pipe:

First of all you have to choose what you want to create. I wanted to create a map with news about environmental issues. So I added the following elements:

Then, you can do the same with all the sources you want to use:

With that information you can finally get your Yahoo!Pipe Map:

I recommend you to visit the site of Yahoo!Pipe and the tutorial they offer. You can also search for the pipes that already exist. That’s an easier way to understand how they work. Finally, visit Ecolatitude and read all the news in a amazing map 🙂

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Yahoo!Pipes: a different storytelling at The Media Experience.

meta